Department of Surgery earns six awards at 2024 College of Medicine - Tucson Faculty Awards

March 1, 2024
2024 COM-T Faculty Awardees

Five faculty members in the Department of Surgery received six honorable awards recognizing their outstanding service in clinical care; diversity, equity, and inclusion; and teaching. 

The awards ceremony was hosted on Wednesday, February 28, in the evening at the HSIB Forum in the Health Sciences Innovation Building. Department of Surgery awardees include:

Excellence Awards

Excellence in Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Award

Lourdes Castañón, MD, FACS

"The Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Award honors the cumulative contributions of a faculty member to advance diversity, equity and inclusion (DEI) at COM-T. Contributions can include, but are not limited to, the mentoring of diverse students, residents/fellows, and faculty; advising students or student organizations; curriculum development, academic teaching, research, or service."

Clinical Excellence Award

Mohammad Khreiss, MD, FACS, FSSO

"The Annual COM-T Clinical Excellence Award recognizes physician faculty members at the Assistant or Associate Professor level for outstanding clinical care."

WIMS GRACE Excellence Award

Taylor S. Riall, MD, PhD, FACS

"The WIMS GRACE award recognizes faculty who have made significant contributions to improve the careers of fellow women physicians and celebrates those who lift others up and breakdown barriers for women faculty in COM-T."

Specialty Advisor Awards

General Surgery

  • Lourdes Castañón, MD, FACS
  • Kenneth Fox, MD, MBA, FACS
  • Bellal A. Joseph, MD, FACS


View the full list of awardees here

Ceremony photos below were taken by Mitch Masilun, a BioCommunications photographer.