Acute Care Surgery Fellowship

The Division of Trauma, Surgical Critical Care, Burns, and Acute Care Surgery within the University of Arizona Department Surgery and Banner University Medical Center - Tucson offers an approved American Association for the Surgery of Trauma (AAST) acute care surgery fellowship. The division is one of only 24 approved sites for this training in the U.S.

This program (which is a non-ACGME accredited fellowship) offers fellows broad training in elective and emergency general surgery, as well as trauma surgery and certain surgical subspecialties. It  provides a second year of training in addition to the critical care fellowship that is already offered by the trauma division. The fellowship is overseen by seven full-time trauma/critical care surgeons, who have extensive clinical and research interests.

Fellows spend approximately 4 to 6 months on the trauma service, functioning as a junior attending, in addition to rotations on vascular, hepatobiliary, thoracic, and orthopedic surgery, and neurosurgery. Additional electives are available, tailored to suit the particular interests and training needs of the fellow. Fellows will also have exposure to Burns as we are currently pursuing a Burn Center status.

Research is strongly encouraged, but not required, with numerous opportunities to participate in both clinical and basic science projects. Protected research time is provided to the fellows to ensure their academic success.

Further details regarding the philosophy of the acute care surgery fellowship as opposed to a critical care or trauma fellowship can be found on the AAST website.

For further details please contact:

Michael Ditillo, MD, FACS
Program Director, Acute Care Surgery and Surgical Critical Care Fellowship
Division of Trauma, Surgical Critical Care, Burns, and Acute Care Surgery
Phone: (520) 626-6608

Patty Barcelo-Sanders
Program Coordinator, Sr.
Phone: (520) 626-6302

Acute Care Fellows

Amer Afaneh, MD - Graduated 2019

Tanya Anand, MD - Graduated 2020

Chanak Chantachote, MD - Graduated 2020

Brian Coats, MD - Graduated 2018

Christopher J Gonzales, MD - Graduated 2021

Cathy Ho, MD - Graduated 2018

Thersia Knapik, MD - Graduated 2019

Ashley Mccusker, MD - Graduated 2018

Matthew Singer, MD - Graduated 2017

Collin Stewart, MD

Keneeshia Williams, MD - 2016-2017